pixel
CALL NOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION (888) 607-8690
Start your free consultation

What Are The Car Insurance Laws In The DMV Area?

Would you like to know the different car insurance laws in the DMV area? We handle different car insurance companies on a daily basis here at our firm. Contact Malloy Law Offices, LLC today!

Is it a requirement to have car insurance? No matter what U.S state you live in, it is the law to drive with car insurance. However, every state has different requirements. This is to protect those on the road in case of an accident. Keep reading to see the different car insurance laws in the DMV area.

Insurance Laws In The DMV Area

Maryland is a mandatory vehicle insurance state. Additionally, all Maryland vehicles must be insured at all times by vehicle insurance companies licensed in Maryland. The vehicle insurance must cover at a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury, $60,000 for bodily injury/death of two or more people, and $15,000 for property damages.

In the state of Virginia, there must be a certification that the vehicle is covered by the minimum insurance requirements or pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee. The insurance carrier has to be authorized to conduct business in Virginia. In addition, Virginia requires the following minimum coverage of $25,000 of bodily injury/death of one person, $50,000 of bodily injury/death of two or more people, and $20,000 for property damages.

Washington D.C. follows similar insurance laws to the state of Maryland. All drivers from Washington D.C. must carry car insurance in the limits prescribed by the state government. The required minimum coverage requirements include $25,000 bodily injury, $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 property damage per accident.

Penalties Of Uninsured Vehicles

In the state of Maryland, the following penalties include:

  • $150 for the first 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to an annual maximum of $2,500 per vehicle.
  • Suspension of registration. Driving under suspension, the vehicle may be impounded and the individual may be ticketed and/or fined
  • Failure to respond to MVA insurance notifications will result in your case being transferred to the Central Collections Unit (CCU)
  • Once your case is sent to CCU, fines are subject to a 17% collection fee and your income tax return will be intercepted.

Virginia penalties for uninsured vehicles include:

  • Suspension of driving and vehicle registration
  • Pay $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee
  • The person must pay a $600 non compliance fee to be reinstated
  • File a responsibility insurance certificate with DMV for 3 years and pay a reinstatement fee, if applicable

Washington D.C. penalties:

  • Suspension of registration
  • suspension of license
  • fine of $150 for first 30 days and $7 for each additional insured day up to $2,500 annually
  • Fine of $30 if you cannot show proof of insurance if pulled over by a police
  • A license reinstatement fee of $98

Contact Our Attorneys Today!

Here at Malloy Law Offices, we see these types of cases on a daily basis. It is important that we remind our clients to pursue a reliable car insurance for their own benefit. If you would like to see how our lawyers handle these cases, click here to view more. When accidents happen, let us insure your recovery. For a free consultation, call us at (888) 607-8690!