Were you involved in a hit and run in the DMV area? Contact Malloy Law Offices, LLC today!
Would you stay at the scene after a crash? There’s a hit and run in the U.S every 40 seconds. But the driver who left can still be held accountable. After a hit and run, it is a law to stay at the scene of the accident. Anyone who flees the event, will be punished.
Each state has a hit and run law. In the state of Maryland, all charges for hit and run carry jail time ranging from 60 days to a year. Additionally, there will be a fine ranging from $500-$1000. Lastly, charges of hit and run carry between 8-12 points which is enough to revoke your license or suspend it at the very least. Maryland is also ranked 19 in the nation for his and run while New Mexico is ranked number 1.
In Washington D.C., if an individual leaves the scene and someone is injured, the police may charge them with a misdemeanor. If an individual fails to stay at the scene of the crash or does not provide any identifying information to law enforcements, the penalty is a jail sentence of 180 days maximum and a maximum fine of $1,000. However, if there were no injuries and only property damages, the penalty for this offence is a maximum period of incarceration of 30 days or a $250 fine. A hit and run is worth 12 points which is automatic loss of driving privileges for 6 months.
Lastly, under Virginia law, a hit and run is considered a criminal offense. There are different types of hit and run charges a person can face for fleeing the scene in the state of Virginia:
We see hit and run cases very frequently around the DMV area. If you would like to see how our attorneys handle these cases, click here to view more. If you were involved in a hit and run, we’ll get you the recovery you are entitled to. Call (888) 607-8690 for a free consultation.